June 2019, Norio

Program Norio XI

 

 

--- Monday June 10 ---
 

10:00-10:10

WELCOME (room Ragnar)

10:10-11:40

Pricing on online platforms (room Ragnar)

  “Paying with (personal) data” by Gisle J. Natvik and Thomas Tangerås
Discussant: Malin Arve (malin.arve@nhh.no)
  “Surfing incognito: Welfare effects of anonymous shopping” by Johan Lagerlöf
Discussant: Tore Nilssen (tore.nilssen@econ.uio.no)
 

“Personalized pricing disables rivals to soften competition” by Øystein Foros, Hans Jarle Kind and Mai Nguyen-Ones
Discussant: Daniel Bougt (daniel.bougt@nek.uu.se)

11:40-12:30

LUNCH

12:30-14:00

A(u)ctions (room Ragnar)

  “Endogenous learning from incremental actions” by Julia Salmi, Tuomas Laiho and Pauli Murto
Discussant: Teis L. Lømo (teis.lomo@uib.no)
 

“Multi-product supply function equilibra” by Pär Holmberg, Keith Ruddell and Bert Willems
Discussant: Pauli Murto (pauli.murto@aalto.fi)

  “Ambiguity and sequential auctions - An empirical test” by Daniel Bougt
Discussant: Håvard M. Sandvik (havard.sandvik@uib.no)

 

Banking and audits (room Torsten)

  “The auditor, asymmetric information and dividend payout in small private firms” by Johannes Mauritzen
Discussant: Catarina Marvao (454698@dit.ie)
 

“Competition in local bank markets: risk taking and loan supply” by Chiara Canta, Øivind A. Nilsen and Simen A. Ulsaker
Discussant: Matilda Orth (matilda.orth@ifn.se)

  “Capital controls as a bargaining device: The case of Iceland” by Fridrik Mar Baldursson,  Richard Portes and Eirikur Elias Thorlaksson
Discussant: Øivind A. Nilsen (oivind.nilsen@nhh.no)

14:00-14:15

STRETCH LEGS

14:15-15:45

Energy markets (room Ragnar)

  “Cournot competition in wholesale electricity markets: The Nordic power exchange, Nord Pool” by Erik Lundin and Thomas Tangerås
Discussant: Frode Steen (frode.steen@nhh.no)
  “Price coordination with prior announcements in retail gasoline markets” by Mai Nguyen-Ones
Discussant: Richard Friberg (nerf@hhs.se)
  “The competitive effect of EU transparency reforms: Evidence from Nord Pool” by Ewa Lazarczyk and Chloé Le Coq
Discussant: Pär Holmberg (par.holmberg@ifn.se)
 

Performance of markets with scale returns (room Torsten)

  “Better or just bigger? Measuring productivity with heterogeneous dynamic enonomies of scale” by Shon M. Ferguson and Per Hjertstrand
Discussant: Morten Sæthre (morten.saethre@nhh.no)
  “Price effects of competition from parallel imports and therapeutic alternatives” by David Granlund
Discussant: Per Hjertstrand (per.hjertstrand@ifn.se)
  “Quality regulation and competition: Evidence from pharmaceutical markets” by Juan Pablo Atal, José Ignacio Cuesta and Morten Sæthre
Discussant: David Granlund (david.granlund@umu.se)

15:45-16:15

FIKA

16:15-17:15

Platform contracts (room Ragnar)

  “Paywalls and the demand for online news” by Frode Skjeret, Frode Steen and Timothy G.A Wyndham
Discussant: Geert van Moer (geert.vanmoer@hanken.fi)
  “Platform contracting with developers” by Anette Boom and Wolfgang Gick
Discussant: Øystein Foros (oystein.foros@nhh.no)
 

Welfare markets and procurement (room Torsten)

  “Competitive Neutrality and the Cost and Quality of Welfare Services ” by Johan Stennek
Discussant: Thomas Tangerås (thomas.tangeras@ifn.se)
  “Anatomy of public procurement” by Jan Jääskeläinen and Janne Tukiainen
Discussant: Mats Bergman (mats.bergman@sh.se)

18:00

DINNER



--- Tuesday June 11 ---
 

09:00-10:00

KEYNOTE SPEECH (room Ragnar)

 

"Procurement of Innovation: Design, Rationale and Impact" by Elisabetta Iossa

10:00-10:15

FIKA

10:15-11:45

Structure of competition (room Ragnar)

  “Survival rate of legal cartel members: The case of Sweden” by Chloé Le Coq and Catarina Marvao
Discussant: Jan Jääskeläinen (jan.jaaskelainen@aalto.fi)
  “Product variety with competitive retail bottlenecks” by Teis L. Lømo, Frode Meland and Håvard M. Sandvik
Discussant: Johan Lagerlöf (johan.lagerlof@econ.ku.dk)
 

“Merger remedies, incomplete information, and commitment” by Bjørn Olav Johansen and Tore Nilssen
Discussant: Johan Stennek (johan.stennek@economics.gu.se)

 

Vertical structure and competition (room Torsten)

  “Can the input supplier credibly compete downstream?” by Geert van Moer
Discussant: Øyvind Thomassen (oyvind.thomassen@gmail.com)
 

“Upstream pricing pressure” by Bjørn Olav Johansen and Teis Lunde Lømo
Discussant: Giancarlo Spagnolo (spagnologianca@gmail.com)

  “Upstream partnerships and mergers when size matters” by Malin Arve, Øystein Foros and Hans Jarle Kind
Discussant: Anette Boom (ab.eco@cbs.dk)

11:45-12:45

LUNCH

12:45-14:15

Retailing (room Ragnar)

  “Cross-category pricing: A discrete-continuous model of supermarket and beer choice” by Martin O'Connell, Howard Smith and Øyvind Thomassen
Discussant: Florin Maican (maicanfg@gmail.com)
  “Entry regulations, product variety, and productivity in retail” by Florin Maican and Matilda Orth
Discussant: Mai Nguyen-Ones (mai.nguyen@nhh.no)
  “Hump-shaped cross-price effects and the extensive margin in cross-border shopping” by Richard Friberg, Frode Steen and Simen Ulsaker
Discussant: Johannes Maurtizen (johannes.mauritzen@bi.no)
 

Certification (room Torsten)

  “The optimal certifier when firms enter and invest” by Jacopo Bizzotto and Bård Harstad
Discussant: Shon Ferguson (shon.ferguson@ifn.se)
  “Certification, reputation and entry: An empirical analysis” by Xiang Huiy, Maryam Saeedi, Giancarlo Spagnolo and Steve Tadelis
Discussant: Erik Lundin (erik.lundin@ifn.se)
  “Equilibrium Selection in Hawk-Dove games” by Mario Blasquez de Paz
Discussant: Jacopo Bizzotto (jacopobi@oslomet.no)

14:15-14:30

FAREWELL

Leading Research Environment

IFN at the top

 

Illustration puff sid 1

 

The Research Institute of Industrial Economics, IFN, is a private and independent foundation devoted to pursuing highly relevant research for trade and industry.

The researchers at IFN are united in their belief that economic methods offer a powerful tool for understanding society.

The main research programs are:

  1. economics of entrepreneurship
  2. globalization and corporate restructuring
  3. economics of the service sector
  4. economics of the electricity markets
  5. economics of institutions and culture.

Research Institute of Industrial Economics, Grevgatan 34 - 2 fl, Box 55665, SE-102 15 Stockholm, Sweden | Phone: +46-(0)8-665 45 00 | info@ifn.se